You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough!

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough!

When I first watched this video, I loved it. I mean really loved it. I loved the idea of being able to do this kind of thing. Whether or not the concept was true or not and he actually went against what Nike requested, travelling the world over 10 days, i’m not sure – but don’t really care either as the idea behind it and the adventure are amazing!

There is one quote along the video I found awesome too – “that it’s not the years left in your life that count but the life in your years”. I don’t think this could not be more true.  I think everyone knows this deep down somewhere and we always here it throughout our lifes from elder – “you only have one life, live it” etc but how many of us actually have or do?  We’re all guilty of living by our routines and in our comfort zones. It’s easy. We know what’s going to happen give or take a few details and we are slaves to our own demise. We live each day as it comes and every week is the same.

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough! 

This year of challenges has really opened my eyes up to what we have available around us and what makes me feel alive! Personally I love it. I love being outdoors, flying down a mountain on the bike, for example, at speed and scaring myself stupid – i’ve never not had a smile on my face! The feeling of freedom, the escape from the routines and ties of life, lying on the grass on top of a mountain eating your lunch and enjoying the view! You can’t beat it.
Just the other day, I descended a hill as fast as I possible could hitting 34mph downhill with my ipod in and “M83 – Outro” playing at full belt (the song off the RedBull advert below!) It was awesome! For about 5 min of sheer speed, flying downhill, sun on my face, legs like jelly and heart racing a million beats an hour, it felt like I could have been in the advert! Haha! Sad i know, but i didnt care. I felt like a kid again and alive. It was so good, I decided to climb back up and do it all again!! I get the same feeling after completing something difficult whatever it may be.

There is so much out there to do! This year i’ve done more already than in any year before and i’m only at Challenge 3! The training is hard going but the rewards, for the charity financially by putting myself through these challenges are amazing along the way and really make it feel that bit more worth while!!  The challenges have also opened my eyes to just how easy it is to say YES and get out there and do it. They have made me realise what it is i love to do and even thinking forward to next year, its going to be bigger!! I’m also learning that whether people think you can or cant do – only you can make it happen.

Impossible is nothing!

This weekend its the 3 Peaks Challenge and so after yesterdays 12 mile training run, i’ll not doing any more exercise on my legs until the weekend. I fell last night dodging a killer rabbit running through my path and went over pretty hard on my ankle so rest is definitely required before the weekend!!

Climbing the 3 tallest mountains in England, Scotland and Wales in 24hrs is going to be tough but rewarding and I cannot wait!!!

Challenge 3 – bring it on!!! Link to details of our plan here! Please, if you can, donate (here) to a Children with Cancer UK for our efforts this weekend too – Pictures and blog of our challenge will follow next week for proof! It’s only challenge 3 of hopefully 12 (The challenges so far here) but i’m sure you will agree still a tough challenge in itself!

One more thing – I have registered for another challenge to try and complete the Fan Dance in September. The challenge is a 23.5 km trail runs through the Brecon Beacons reaching a maximum elevation of 886m at the peak of Pen y Fan. Ascending to the summit then down the other side and reversing the route again. The route has some pedigree – it’s used as a fitness and navigation test by the British Military and like the Military we also need to complete this challenge in under 4 hours if selected.

Pen y Fan

Pen y Fan, Brecon Beacons

When I first heard about this I thought it would be a perfect challenge to test me both mentally and physically! I want to do this so badly. To get the opportunity to compete though there is voting system where every “like” will count as a vote. At the closing date Gore-Tex (who are running the event) will pick the team based on votes, application, fitness etc etc. My application is so cheesy it’s untrue but if you could take 20 sec out to just click the link below and then like on the side of the page it will count as a vote and hopefully bring me a step closer to having Challenge number 11!

I strongly encourage everyone to apply also! It’s such a fantastic opportunity, not only to do the Fan Dance but they have other challenges across the Alps and other parts of the world too where all expenses are paid!

http://www.experience-tour.com/tour/can-you-complete-the-fan-dance/applicant/195/

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Steve

Back to HOME

Jump to : The Challenges

Jump to: How to Sponsor

One thought on “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough!

Leave a Reply

